play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Shelsey

At Shelsey we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car or van can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Shelsey

Shelsey
5
4.8

Based on 21 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Look no further for your next purchase !

    By Sally F on 26 November 2016 | Verified purchase

    I have bought three cars from Shelsey and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. Richard, the owner, is unfailingly helpful and just as important, applies no pressure to buy. A part exchange service is extremely helpful when disposing the owner's current vehicle. Richard manages to have a wide range of vehicles on show, all with very competitive prices and a willing offer to have a test drive plus long distance delivery by arrangement. Why would I go anywhere else ! Sally, Frome.


  • 5

    A pleasant, straightforward, experience

    By Des W on 13 November 2016 | Verified purchase

    In 50+ years of buying at least 36 cars, campervans & motorcycles, this was the most straightforward, no nonsense transaction of all. Richard was very helpful and easy to deal with. Strengthening My view that purchasing from a smaller, regional company is preferable to many of the multi-branch main dealerships. Full marks to Shelsey' !


  • 5

    Good car deal

    By Neil B on 12 November 2016 | Verified purchase

    Car was delivered on time and as described


  • 5

    100% satisfied with this dealer

    By Jacqui M on 11 November 2016 | Verified purchase

    I must say, Richard is a pleasure to deal with. Extremely honest and very proud of the lovely cars he sells. His personal manner is very likeable. For the first time ever, we bought a car without seeing or testing it first (only photos). That is could tell on the phone that he is totally trustworthy and gave me a very accurate description of the condition, history etc. of the car. He delivered the car to us, 170 miles, for a small charge. We are very happy with the car and would not hesitate to deal with this man and his business again


  • 5

    Great car and great service

    By Loiuse C on 03 November 2016 | Verified purchase

    I purchased a Mini from Shelsey a few months ago and am very pleased with my car. Richard was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish, letting me come up from Bournemouth on a Sunday and then delivering my car to my house a few days later. All paperwork etc done and really helpful with all questions. Couldn't recommend enough.


  • 5

    After Sale Service

    By Mike L on 20 August 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Three months ago I purchased a used Citroen from Shelsey Cars. A couple of weeks ago I began to hear a knock which sounded like the exhaust. As I live fifty miles away from Frome I took it to my local garage for diagnosis. They informed me it was the front near side shock absorber. I then contacted Shelsey cars explaining the problem and asked if he could help. They immediately said they would fix the problem and put me in touch with the garage to book the car in. They were most helpful and I took the car for repair the following Monday.. It was repaired while I waited in under an hour and a half and the faulty component was shown to me and a full explanation of the work carried out. I could not be more pleased with the cooperation and work carried out by both Shelsey and the team of mechanics. All this was done under warranty free of charge and couldn’t have been easier from for me. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone purchasing a car and after sales service


  • 5

    Exactly what I wanted

    By Simon G on 26 May 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Bought a 1 series BMW from Richard and collected it last Saturday, have covered 800 miles this week and the car is exactly what I wanted. Excellent fuel economy, really comfortable and so easy to drive. Richards approach to selling was friendly and knowledgeable, I would definitely buy from him again and recommend to others.

    Reply from Shelsey on 27/05/19

    Thankyou Simon for your feedback. I am pleased it has proven efficient and comfortable for you as you are going to use this car to do loads of miles. Keep it serviced regularly and it will do loads more for you. It was a pleasure, also to serve you and your wife and I thank you both for your custom


  • 5

    Very genuine car dealership!

    By Amy G on 03 March 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I highly recommend Shelsey Cars! Firstly the car was even more beautiful in person than the images, it was also in immaculate condition and had been recently serviced. Secondly Richard couldn’t have been more genuine and helpful (he even drove me to the post office to get my car tax). All in all top service and an enjoyable experience. Thank you Richard!


  • 5

    Well Pirced but be careful...

    By Adam B on 27 November 2018 | Purchase not verified

    if Any buttons on the car appear not to work don’t fully trust seller has fully investigated these, to be told the steering wheel controls are not fitted to this model, after changing two tyres to then find the tyre pressure doesn’t reset also due to a fault with the car. The support from seller to resolve this was disappointing first a trip to Yeovil at my own cost to be told it was a fault with the coding on the infortainment system. I then contacted Shelsey who told me to call the original dealer despite not been their customer. Which then involved another 2hr drive to Cardiff to have this resolved. All I got from Shelsey is no one does their job properly anymore (meaning Seat)... well Shelsey I don’t feel urs was fully done on this occasion. Other than that the car is tidy and well presented but these small issues should not be found if had been properly checked as Salesman initially told me to conclude the sale.

    Reply from Shelsey on 28/11/18

    Your car was fitted with a replacement Infotainment system at 2 years old and replaced under the 3 year warranty with SEAT. I,m afraid SEAT had failed to upload some of the features on to the system , hence the issues you raise. I took this up with SEAT and advised you that If you took the car to Any dealership they would resolve the problem at no cost to you - and they did- at no cost under their terms of warranty. It was your choice you took the car to Cardiff when you had a SEAT dealer less than 5 miles from your home.


  • 5

    Good Experience

    By John L on 13 August 2017 | Purchase not verified

    I bought a car from Shelsey garage and traded in my car I was kept up-to-date on the process at all times and a fair price for both vehicles was agreed. He was very knowledgeable and i felt he was both an honest and straightforward person to deal with.